Annual State Conference of AROI (WB Chapter) 2020

Date: 11th & 12th January 2020 Venue: The Park, Kolkata

The 2020 Annual Conference of AROI West Bengal Chapter was successfully held at The Park, Kolkata on 11-12 January 2020.

It was attended by over 150 delegates and faculty, including some outstanding names from across the country, such as Prof UmeshMahantshetty (by video link after his flight was delayed), Prof Bhavana Rai & Prof Supriya Chopra.

The theme of the event was Women's Cancer, and accordingly the thrust areas were Breast & Gynaecological Cancers. As always, the sessions included a mix of talks and panel discussions, involving colleagues in medical & surgical oncology as well.

As is customary, seniors AROI members were felicitated at the Inauguration Ceremony graced by none other than legendary actress RituparnaSengupta: the felicitants this year were Prof Shyamal Sarkar, Prof AnupMajumder, Prof Anjali Majumder& Dr SankarNath (who also entranced the gathering with the inauguration song).

The 2020 Saroj Gupta Memorial Oration was given by Prof SubirGangopadhyay on the thought-provoking topic of whether today's cutting edge treatments are indeed worth the cost or merely hype.

While the youngsters in the audience would have enjoyed the learned deliberations throughout the conference, they enjoyed most of all, the competitive sessions, including the Short Paper session & the exciting Quiz (hosted by Dr AnupamDatta). The worthy winners of the Short Paper session awards were Dr Pritha Roy (RG Kar Medical College Hospital, Kolkata-1st prize), Dr Arnab Kumar Ghosh (Medical College Hospital, Kolkata-2nd year) and Dr DebdeepSamaddar (RG KarMedical College Hospital, Kolkata-3rd prize), while the quiz was won by Dr RajarshiGoswami& Dr UpasanaKundu (IPGMER, Kolkata).

As in past years, the AROI-WB –Fight Cancer Fellowships for 2nd and 3rd year residents were again announced: this year's winners are Dr RajarshiGoswami (IPGMER, Kolkata-3rd year) and Dr JanmenjoyMondal (Medical College Hospital, Kolkata-2nd year).

This year also saw the launch of another exciting new fellowship for the young specialists, namely the AROI-WB Young Oncologist Fellowship & the inaugural winners were Dr MonidipaMondal (Narayana Superspeciality Hospital, Howrah) and Dr PraloyBasu (Midnapore Medical College Hospital, Midnapore).

During the Annual General Meeting on 11th January 2020, AROI-WB Secretary, Dr JyotirupGoswami announced he is stepping aside from his role as he is going abroad for career reasons; for the remaining term of the current Executive Committee, the Secretary's role will be shared between Dr Suman Mallik and Dr Abhishek Basu, under the guidance of President, Prof Santanu Pal.